NoPSA Board


Nordic Political Science Association

NoPSA Board

NoPSA has a board counting at least two members each from the political science associations of Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden. The board elects a chairperson from amongst its members. The board also appoints a secretary. The chairperson is elected for a period of three years and may not be re-elected for the following three-year period. The election takes place at the board meeting held in connection with the NoPSA Ccngress. The secretary is elected for the same three-year period as the chairperson. Due to the CoVID-19 situation, that postponed the XIX Congress, the Board with the support of the five nordic PSAs changed the statutes to extend the 2017-2020 with one year for the chair and secretary.

Board members 2017-2021

Flemming Juul Christiansen (President), Roskilde University, Denmark.

Guri Rosen, University of Oslo, Norway

Board member from 2018

Marianne Riddervold,Inland Norway University of Applied Sciences, Norway

Board member from 2018

Eva Heiða Önnudóttir, University of Iceland, Iceland.

Grétar Þór Eyþórsson, University of Akureyri, Iceland.

Isak Vento, University of Helsinki, Finland.

Staffan Himmelroos, Åbo Akdademi, Finland.

Jan Olsson; örebro University, Sweden.

Douglas Brommesson, Lunds universitet,Sweden.

Board member from 2019.

Michael Baggesen Klitgaard, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Board member from 2019

Ulrika Mörth, Stockholms Universitet, Sweden.


Michael Seeberg, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark

Board member from 2017-2019

Rune Karlsen, Institute for Social research, Norway.

Board member 2017-2018

Anders Ravik Jupskås, University of Oslo, Norway.

Board member 2017-2018

NoPSA Secretary 2017-2021

Tina Øllgaard Bentzen, Roskilde University, Denmark.

Presidents 1975-2017

1975 Stein Rokkan, University of Bergen

1976-1978  Henry Valen, Oslo University

1978-1981  Nils Elvander, Uppsala University

1981-1984  Gunnar Sjöblom, University of Copenhagen

1984-1987  Dag Anckar, Åbo Akademi University

1987-1990  Kjell A. Eliassen, Bedriftsøkonomisk Institutt, Oslo

1990-1993  Bo Särlvik, University of Gothenburg

1993-1996  Finn Bruun, Aarhus University

1996-1999  Jan Sundberg, University of Helsinki

1999-2002 Nina Raaum, University of Bergen

2002-2005  Sten Berglund, Örebro University

2005-2008  Erik Albaek, Aalborg University/University of Southern Denmark

2008-2011  Lauri Karvonen, Åbo Akademi University

2011-2014  Oddbjørn Knutsen, Oslo University

2014-2017 Ulrika Mörth, Stockholm University


Previous board members 1975-2017

1975-1978  1978-1981  1981-1984  1984-1987  1987-1990 

1990-1993  1993-1996  1996-1999  1999-2002 2002-2005    

2005-2008  2008-2011  2011-2014 2014-2017


Nordic Members of IPSA's Excutive Committee

Complete List, 1950-2018